Unveiling the Depths of Self-Love

A Journey Beyond Bubble Baths and Affirmations

Carin M. LaCount, O.D.
4 min readMar 3, 2024

--

Photo by Joshua Oluwagbemiga on Unsplash

Ask anyone and they’ll tell you what self-love is. Typically they will cite self-care practices. Occasionally they will expand that to boundary setting and maybe even tell you of their affirmation statements used to convince themselves that they indeed love themselves.

And they’re not wrong.

Beyond that, those who do understand self-love and consistently practice it will be challenged to describe self-love. When they try, they end up using an esoteric vocabulary that leaves others smiling at them like they know what they mean, while either thinking they’re nuts or feeling guilty that they don’t have that degree of spirituality.

Because ultimately, self-love is a spiritual practice.

I learned this the hard way, as most of us do… when/if we do. This self-love business is the very lesson we are all here to learn.

I believe it can start with self-care, because that’s where I started, but the graduate level of self-love goes way beyond bubble baths.

In the aftermath of my divorce, I suffered extreme depression. I knew it for what it was, but I didn’t understand why I couldn’t self-care that shit away. I was told often that I didn’t love myself. Although I knew…

--

--

Carin M. LaCount, O.D.

Published author on Self-Love who writes as a means to find her Zen and expand it to others.